Skip to Content
View site list




Click here for free access to Canadian public sector construction bids & RFPs

RAIC names 41 new Fellows in honour of achievements

DCN News Service
RAIC names 41 new Fellows in honour of achievements

OTTAWA—A Vancouver leader in condominium rehabilitation, a Montreal heritage expert involved in restoration on Parliament Hill, a Toronto architect reshaping his city, and the designer of some 150 projects in Nunavut are among the Canadian architects to be named 2016 Fellows by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC).

Membership in the College of Fellows is intended to recognize outstanding achievement in the profession. Criteria include design excellence, exceptional scholarly contributions or distinguished service to the profession or the community, an RAIC media statement released April 28 indicates.

The new members include:

Donald Hazledon, of Vancouver, who formed the Building Envelope Research Consortium in 1995 to address the issue of leaky condominiums and develop technical solutions;

Ewa Bieniecka, of Montreal, who has worked on some of Canada’s most recognizable heritage landmarks including the rehabilitation of the West Block and East Blocks on Parliament Hill and who is the RAIC vice-president;

Harriet Burdett-Moulton, of Dartmouth, N.S., a Metis architect who was the second female graduate architect from Nova Scotia Technical University and has designed more than 150 projects in Nunavut; and

Calvin Brook, a Toronto architect, urban designer and planner whose projects include Downsview Park, Waterfront Toronto’s Gardiner Transformation Project and the city’s Avenues and Mid-Rise Buildings study.

Fellows will be inducted at the College of Fellows Convocation, set to take place during the RAIC’s Festival of Architecture in Nanaimo, B.C., June 8 to 11.

It was also announced that the president, CEO and founding director of the Canada Green Building Council, Thomas Mueller, is being inducted into the College as an Honorary Fellow and will be giving the keynote address at the convocation ceremony on June 9.

The other 2016 Fellows are: David Bergmark, Charlottetown, P.E.I., Jacques Boucher, Pokemouche, N.B., James Case, St. John’s, N.L., Anthony Cook, Halifax, N.S., and Carol G. Rogers, Halifax; Guy Favreau, Maxime-Alexis Frappier and Bruno St-Jean, all of Montreal; Murray Gallant, Toon Dreessen, Gerald D. Conway and David K. Cole, all of Ottawa; Betsy Williamson, Brian Rudy, J. Albert Paquette, David Miller, Anne McIlroy, Mark Langridge, Leslie Jen, Viktors Jaunkalns, Valerie Gow, Andre D’Elia, John E. Christie, Tania Bortolotto and Cheryl Atkinson, all of Toronto; Dudley Thompson, James Orlikow Kent Woloschuk and Robert W. Martin, of Winnipeg, Man.; Keith D. Henry, Saskatoon, Sask., Robert D. Bennett, Edmonton, Alta., Terry Hartwig, Sherwood Park, Alta., Bruce McKenzie, Calgary, and Sean Ruthen, Elisa Brandts, Conrad Boychuk and Trevor Boddy, all of Vancouver.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like