Skip to Content

View site list



RFQ issued for nine new OPP detachments

DCN News Service
RFQ issued for nine new OPP detachments

TORONTO — Infrastructure Ontario (IO) and the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services (MCSCS) have announced they have issued a Request for Qualifications (RFQ) for interested parties to submit their qualifications to design, build and finance nine new detachments as part of phase two of the Ontario Provincial Police Modernization project.

Phase two will see nine new detachments built to replace buildings at the end of their useful lifespan, says an IO media statement issued Jan. 27. The new detachments will be located in Moosonee, Fort Frances, Hawkesbury, Huron County, West Parry Sound, Manitoulin Island, Port Credit, Marathon and Orillia.

As part of the RFQ process, IO and the MCSCS will evaluate submissions to prequalify project teams with the design and construction experience as well as the qualified personnel and financial capacity to deliver a project of this scope and complexity, says IO. Teams that qualify will be invited to respond to a request for proposals in mid-2017.

The new facilities will remain publicly owned.

Phase two of the OPP facilities upgrade is being delivered using IO’s Alternative Financing and Procurement model.

Under the first phase of the modernization project, Ontario replaced 18 detachments, regional headquarters and forensic identification services with 17 new facilities in 16 communities across Ontario. The OPP polices 324 communities in Ontario and is responsible for patrolling 126,000 kilometres of highways.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like