Skip to Content
View site list


Pre-Bid Projects

Pre-Bid Projects

Click here to see Canada’s most comprehensive listing of projects in conceptual and planning stages

Associations, Projects

OAA jury selects 20 Design Excellence finalists

DCN News Services
OAA jury selects 20 Design Excellence finalists
BOB GUNDU — The McEwen School of Architecture at Laurentian University in Sudbury, Ont. is Canada’s first new architecture school in 40 years. According to its Ontario Association of Architects Design Excellence Awards citation, the architects chose to design the school as a didactic instrument, composed of two heritage buildings: a new 36,480-square-foot steel and concrete studio wing and a new 15,670-square-foot cross-laminated timber library wing. Designed by LGA Architectural Partners.

TORONTO — The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) has announced 20 finalists for the OAA Design Excellence Awards.
The shortlisted projects range from local Ontario homes to Ivy League university buildings in the U.S. to temples in Chile, selected out of 111 submissions, said a recent media release.

“The 2018 finalists have set a new standard for excellence in architecture and represent a dynamic range of bold and cutting-edge thinking that architects in our province are fast becoming renowned for. The projects demonstrate exciting new approaches to functionality that enhance the lives of Ontarians, Canadians and global citizens,” said OAA president John Stephenson in the statement. “Once again, I’m pleased that through the OAA Awards we can celebrate the world-class design and vision of architects based in Ontario that are creating and inspiring powerful contributions for our future.”

The finalists were judged by a jury on such criteria as creativity, context, sustainability, good design/good business and legacy.

Winners in categories including Design Excellence, Best Emerging Practice, G. Randy Roberts Service Award and Order of da Vinci will be announced April 3.

The finalists are:

  • Alta Chalet, Town of the Blue Mountains, Ont., Atelier Kastelic Buffey;
  • Baha’i Temple of South America, Santiago, Chile, Hariri Pontarini Architects;
  • Casey House, Toronto, Hariri Pontarini Architects, E.R.A. Architects (heritage consultant);
  • CF Toronto Eaton Centre Bridge, Toronto, Zeidler Partnership Architects (executive architect) and WilkinsonEyre (design architect);
  • Collaborative Greenhouse Technology Centre, Lincoln, Ont., Baird Sampson Neuert Architects;
  • Compass House, Mulmur, Ont., Superkul;
  • Double Duplex, Toronto, Batay-Csorba Architects;
  • Environmental Science and Chemistry Building, University of Toronto, Scarborough, Toronto, Diamond and Schmitt Architects;
  • House on Ancaster Creek, Hamilton, Williamson Williamson;
  • House in Mulmur Hills 3, Mulmur Township, Ont. Ian MacDonald Architect;
  • Julis Romo Rabinowitz Building & Louis A. Simpson International Building, Princeton University, Princeton, N.J., KPMB Architects;
  • Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill., KPMB Architects;
  • Langara College Science & Technology Building, Vancouver, Teeple Architects in association with Proscenium Architecture + Interiors;
  • Limelight Bandshell, Toronto, Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect;
  • McEwen School of Architecture, Sudbury, Ont., LGA Architectural Partners;
  • National Arts Centre Rejuvenation, Ottawa, Diamond and Schmitt Architects;
  • Remai Modern, Saskatoon, Sask., KPMB Architects (design architect) and Architecture49 Inc. (architect of record);
  • Student Learning Centre, Ryerson University, Toronto, Zeidler Partnership Architects (executive architect) and Snohetta (design architect);
  • UBC Aquatics Centre, Vancouver, MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects and Acton Ostry Architects; and
  • Wellington Building Rehabilitation, Ottawa, NORR Architects & Engineers.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like