Skip to Content
View site list




Click here for free access to Canadian public sector construction bids & RFPs

CCA announces 2019 Awards of Excellence winners virtually

CCA announces 2019 Awards of Excellence winners virtually

OTTAWA — The 2019 Canadian Construction Association (CCA) Awards of Excellence were presented a little differently than in previous years with virtual recognitions taking place due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The awards recognize the contributions of individuals, organizations and projects that promote and enhance the Canadian construction industry, whether through innovation, projects or dedication to the industry, indicates the CCA website.

The 2019 CCA Person of the Year Award was given to Grant Beck, who served as president and CEO of Graham Construction from 2012 until his passing in 2019. The award recognizes individuals who demonstrate the qualities of a leader and who apply the highest standards and principles of the construction industry and business community.

Beck started his career at Graham in the early 1990s and was instrumental in establishing Graham’s place in the delivery of P3 projects in Canada.

PCL Construction was presented the CCA Excellence in Innovation Award, recognizing outstanding construction firms in Canada who have implemented innovative construction practices within the past two years. PCL developed and built Job Site Insights, a cloud‐based, smart platform that provides real‐time monitoring of environmental and energy conditions on a construction site, which led to cost savings in energy consumption and reductions in re-work and damages due to environmental issues.

The inaugural CCA Workforce Award of Excellence recipient is the British Columbia Construction Association (BCCA). It was established to recognize CCA member firms and partner associations who champion diversity and inclusion in the construction industry with demonstrated results.

The BCCA is focused on a “skilled workforce” which includes an ongoing emphasis on engaging new workers from non-traditional sources within B.C. by implementing programs such as the Skilled Trades Employment Program and Integrating Newcomers program. The Builders Code was created to ensure construction employers adopt and champion HR policies that guarantee equal and fair treatment of all workers in B.C.’s construction workforce, so that those who were attracted to joining the workforce want to stay in workforce, states the awards website.

The CCA Environmental Achievement Award, recognizing the leadership role that member firms and associations have taken to promote and undertake exemplary environmental conduct, was given to PCL.

The Panda Passage project at the Calgary Zoo achieved Petal Certification as part of the International Living Future Institute’s Living Building Challenge (LBC). In this project, innovative construction methods and creative procurement delivered a product that met the rigorous LBC requirements while still delivering a thematic experience and working within a budget, adds the website.

Alberici Constructors Ltd. was given the CCA National Safety Award which recognizes outstanding achievement in program development, staff training, industry contribution as well as safe work record accomplishments in the pursuit of safety.

Alberici’s safety statistics are consistently below the industry average, the website reads, with a Lost Time Injury rate of 0.00 and a National Lost Time Injury rate that is two times lower than the industry average. The foundation of its SafeRing program is plan, communicate, observe and improve. Its approach to safety is driven from the top down and includes actions for staff at all levels, including management.

The Association de la construction du Quebec (ACQ) — Region de Quebec received the CCA Partner Association Award of Excellence because it has demonstrated outstanding leadership in industry enhancement, education and member recruitment.

One of the ACQ’s biggest endeavours was responding to members’ concerns over the future workforce through the Chantier de l’Emploi, the association’s first annual training and job fair dedicated exclusively to the construction industry in Quebec.

The CCA Community Leader Award was given to Westcor Construction Ltd. The award recognizes a CCA member firm, partner association or individual who has devoted their time and effort to the betterment of their communities.

To celebrate its 15th anniversary, Westcor put its purpose to build a better world, by putting people first into action with the Building a Better Community — A Westcor People-First Initiative. The initiative proposed 15 acts of kindness within one year with each activity putting emphasis on sweat equity rather than on writing a cheque, the company says.

The 2019 Gold Seal Association Award went to the Construction Association of Nova Scotia (CANS). The award recognizes outstanding achievements by CCA partner associations to promote and support the CCA Gold Seal program.

For CANS, the most important aspect of promoting and supporting Gold Seal is the personalized assessments and training plans it provides which allows individuals to ask questions, discuss their career path and build their training plan in a one-on-one environment, states the website, adding in 2018-2019 alone over 620 learners, representing more than 155 unique companies, enrolled in CANS courses — 100 per cent of which are Gold Seal-accredited.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like