Skip to Content
View site list




Click here for free access to Canadian public sector construction bids & RFPs

MCAC announces Richard McKeagan scholarship series winners

DCN-JOC News Services
MCAC announces Richard McKeagan scholarship series winners

OTTAWA — The Mechanical Contractors Association of Canada (MCAC) recently announced the recipients of the 2020 Richard McKeagan Scholarship Series, providing more than $17,000 in scholarships to students studying in the mechanical contracting and mechanical engineering fields.

The program is aimed at students in the mechanical field of study and has been broadened to include several new initiatives, including scholarships specifically for women, in addition to scholarships available for financial assistance in the mechanical field of study.

The scholarship series, named in honour of past-CEO Richard McKeagan, is supported by MCAC Associate Members and MCA partners from across Canada who provide funding for the program and the various scholarships offered, states a release. Since its launch in 2006, the scholarship series has awarded more than $50,000 to post-secondary students.

This year’s scholarships were available through a number of partners including Bradford White Canada, Federated Insurance, Masco/Delta, MCA Hamilton-Niagara, Reliance Worldwide, Uponor and the broader Associate Membership of MCA Canada, which funds a single MCAC Associate Member Scholarship.

The following students received the 2020 scholarship funding:

  • Bradford White Canada – Holly Padfield, Medicine Hat College;
  • Federated Insurance – Sean Coey, University of Manitoba;
  • MASCO Canada– Manuel Lemos, McMaster University;
  • MCAC Associates Council – Makenna Isfjord, University of Manitoba and Mina Ariana, BC Institute of Technology;
  • OS&B: Ethan Law, St. Francis Xavier University and Braedon Grace, College of the North Atlantic;
  • Reliance Worldwide Corporation (RWC) – Alisha Suthakaran, McMaster University;
  • Uponor (Dan Kirkpatrick Scholarship) – Makenna Isfjord, University of Manitoba; Mia McDonald, Fanshawe College; Madison Button, Memorial University of Newfoundland; Mina Ariana, BC Institute of Technology; and Holly Padfield, Medicine Hat College; and
  • Women in Mechanical Construction, sponsored by MCAHN – Madison Button, Memorial University of Newfoundland and Mina Ariana, BC Institute of Technology.

“MCA Canada is committed to supporting the next generation of employees in our industry, and this year we saw a record number of applications for our scholarship program,” said Dave Holek, president and chair of the MCAC, in a statement.

“Our industry faces significant change and evolution in the coming years, particularly in light of the demographic shifts expected in the workforce as a result of COVID-19. This scholarship program provides a connection to students and potential employees, and an opportunity to showcase what great careers are available in our industry.”

For more information, visit

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like