Skip to Content
View site list


Pre-Bid Projects

Pre-Bid Projects

Click here for free access to Conceptual and Planning stage projects from across Canada
Associations, Projects

OAPC presents awards for contributions to the industry

DCN-JOC News Services
OAPC presents awards for contributions to the industry

MISSISSAUGA, ONT. – The Ontario Asphalt Pavement Council (OAPC) awards, celebrating individuals who make a positive difference in the asphalt industry, were presented at the council’s fifth AGM recently.

The 2020 awards were presented via the Ontario Road Builders’ Association’s virtual summit, Forging the Roadway Ahead. 

The Honorary Life Membership Award, recognizing members for their dedication to advancing the objectives of OAPC and who have performed notable service to the council, was presented to Paul Lum, technical director for Colas Inc.

Lum was the president of the Ontario Hot Mix Producers Association (OHMPA), predecessor of the OAPC, in 2008. He is the first and only two-time recipient of the Earl Kee Volunteer of the Year Award in 1999 and 2003. He was also the recipient of the King Beamish Excellence Award in 2009. Throughout his career, he managed the asphalt materials testing laboratory for Warren Paving & Materials Group and Ashwarren Engineering Services. He also held positions with Lafarge Holcim, CRH Canada and CRH Americas. In the mid-1990s he joined OHMPA’s technical committee for which he was chair for several years and was instrumental in introducing Superpave to the province.

The King Beamish Excellence Award recognizes a member of the association who has made an exemplary volunteer contribution to the council. The award was established to honour former member King Beamish, founder of K J Beamish Construction Co Ltd.

The 2020 award was presented to Mike Deckert, senior vice-president at FLO Components Ltd. Deckert is the 2013 recipient of the Earl Kee Volunteer of the Year Award. He has served as chair of OAPC’s Plant and Paving Committee since 2010. Under his leadership, the OAPC has greatly expanded the reach of the Trillium Awards program and he was instrumental in the creation of the Roads Scholarship program that was launched in 2013 and is partnered with six colleges throughout Ontario.

The Joe Bunting Mentorship Award, established to recognize the importance of mentorship to the community, was awarded to Domenic Passalacqua, general manager of D. Crupi & Sons Limited. Passalacqua joined the OAPC Plant and Paving Committee in 2015. Over his 30-plus year career he has mentored numerous people in asphalt plant operations and is a regular speaker at OAPC events and the ORBA Road Building Academy.

The Earl Kee Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes a member who has made an exemplary voluntary contribution to the work of the council in the past year and has made a significant contribution to the development or progress of the council’s objectives.

The 2020 honour is awarded to Pavel Kriz, Americas Asphalt technical leader with ExxonMobil. Kriz served on the OAPC board in 2018 and was instrumental in developing the OAPC/Imperial Oil Asphalt Technical Symposium (ATS). From the ATS, the Ontario Expert Task Group was established. 

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like