Skip to Content
View site list


Pre-Bid Projects

Pre-Bid Projects

Click here to see Canada’s most comprehensive listing of projects in conceptual and planning stages


UBC School of Architecture relaunches Margolese design prize

DCN-JOC News Services
UBC School of Architecture relaunches Margolese design prize

VANCOUVER — The University of British Columbia’s School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (SALA) announced it is relaunching its $50,000 Margolese National Design for Living Prize.

The prize is open to “any Canadian citizen who is doing outstanding work in a field related to the built environment,” a SALA release stated.

“Through the Margolese Prize we aim to inspire students everywhere, by highlighting Canadians who are shaping their professions and the future of the built environment,” SALA director Ronald Kellet said in the statement.

Eligible areas of focus include but are not limited to:

  • Affordable housing and social infrastructure
  • Community design and public space
  • Ecological design and biodiversity
  • Climate change and resilience
  • Human health and well-being
  • Food security and water quality
  • Social equity and environmental justice
  • Mobility and transportation
  • Disaster and pandemic relief
  • Universal design and accessibility

The nominations should “demonstrate tangible and far-reaching impact and benefit, reflect the power of design to enhance social, cultural or economic well-being, and inspire others or lead to replicated similar initiatives,” the release said.

Nominations for the prize open annually from February through March 2021, with shortlisted candidates notified and asked to submit applications, which will be due in June 2021. Winners are announced in September 2021 with an award ceremony and presentation in October.

Nominations must include the name, email and phone number of the nominator, name of the candidate, and up to 500 words describing the candidate’s contribution to the built environment.

Previous Vancouver prize winners include the late architect Bing Thom in 2013 and landscape architect Cornelia Hahn Oberlander in 2015. The prize was awarded six times from 2012 to 2017 with a pause for reevaluation in 2018, the release stated.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like