Skip to Content

View site list



OHMPA presents Trillium Awards at Asphalt Seminar

DCN News Service
OHMPA presents Trillium Awards at Asphalt Seminar

VAUGHAN, ONT. — The Ontario Hot Mix Producers Association (OHMPA) recognized nine asphalt producers as first-time winners at the association’s annual Trillium Awards ceremony held Dec. 1 in Vaughan, Ont.

The awards were handed out to cap OHMPA’s annual Fall Asphalt Seminar. The event was the last hosted by the association as an independent organization, as it will be reconstituted as a council of the Ontario Road Builders’ Association after members of both organizations voted to merge earlier this fall. The merger comes into effect this January.

The Trillium Awards were introduced in 2002. The recipients meet exceptionally high standards in seven categories — appearance, operations, environmental, safety, permitting and compliance, community relations and industry participation, OHMPA’s media release indicated.

The nine newly awarded plants for 2016 are Thomas Cavanagh Construction Limited, 77009 Asphalt Plant; R.W. Tomlinson Limited, Moodie Plant; R.W. Tomlinson Limited, Rideau Plant; R.W. Tomlinson Limited, Portable Plant; Fowler Construction Company Limited, Plant 8, Madill; Fowler Construction Company Limited, Plant 5, Rosewarne; K.J. Beamish Construction Co. Ltd., Hanmer Asphalt Plant; and The Miller Group, Smith Construction, Astec Double Drum Portable.

Asphalt plants named for three-year Trillium recertification were Coco Paving Inc., Belleville Plant; Coco Paving Inc., London Plant; Coco Paving Inc., Wolfedale Plant; Dufferin Construction Company, Hamilton Asphalt Plant; Dufferin Construction Company, Bronte Asphalt Plant; The Miller Group, Mill-Am Asphalt Plant; The Miller Group, Lavis Contracting Co. Limited, Holmesville Plant; The Miller Group, E.C. King, Sydenham Plant; The Miller Group, The Murray Group, Mt. Forest Plant; The Murray Group, Bowman Plant; The Miller Group, Whitby Asphalt Plant; The Miller Group, Smith Construction, Turcotte Plant; The Miller Group, New Liskeard Asphalt Plant; and The Miller Group, Brennan Paving, Port Colborne Plant.

To date, 77 plants have earned the Trillium Award and 61 have been recertified.

Also presented at the seminar was the Bleeds Black Award, which recognizes individuals who have demonstrated exceptional commitment and passion to the continual improvement of asphalt throughout their career. The 2016 Bleeds Black Award recipient is Tom Dziedziejko, director of quality, infrastructure for Aecon Construction and Materials Limited. Dziedziejko has worked for Aecon for 20 years and has been in the asphalt industry for over 30 years working in materials testing and construction.

The OHMPA tribute to Dziedziejko said, "Throughout the decades Mr. Dziedziejko has made a tremendous positive impact within the industry through his work and advocacy on numerous committees and task groups and has been a great mentor to the next generation of asphalt technologists."

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like