Skip to Content

View site list



Guelph association honoured with Home Builders award

DCN News Services
Guelph association honoured with Home Builders award

NIAGARA FALLS, ONT.—The Ontario Home Builders’ Association (OHBA) has announced the winners of its major awards for 2017.

The award winners were announced at the OHBA’s President’s Gala in Niagara Falls, where Pierre Dufresne was also welcomed as 2017-18 president.

The OHBA presented the Guelph and District Home Builders’ Association (GDHBA) with the 2017 Local Association of the Year Award. Listed among the GDHBA’s accomplishments were its efforts on net zero energy programs and building technologies, noted a media statement issued Sept. 25.

Steve Deveaux, vice-president of land development at Tribute Communities, was honoured as the 2017 OHBA Member of the Year. As past chair of the GTA-based Building Industry and Land Development Association (BILD), the statement indicated, Deveaux was active working alongside the OHBA on government advocacy efforts, including inclusionary zoning and reform of the Ontario Municipal Board, presentations at joint meetings with Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne and Opposition Leader Patrick Brown, as well as many deputations to Queen’s Park Standing Committees in support of OHBA positions.

Harry Herskowitz, partner in the law firm DelZotto, Zorzi LLP and past chair of the Tarion Warranty Corporation, received the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award for his leadership with Tarion and "years of exemplary leadership and service to the residential construction industry."

Laura Higgs, executive officer of the Sudbury and District Home Builders’ Association (SDHBA), was awarded the 2017 David Horton Leadership Award, which honours the memory of David Horton, who served as executive director of the OHBA for more than 25 years. During her nearly 10-year tenure as executive officer, Higgs has contributed to increasing the SDHBA’s membership and worked on outreach to other northern communities, the statement said.

Jon Whyte of Mountainview Homes was the recipient of a special recognition award for his "outstanding leadership within the industry and contributions to the association." Whyte, the chair of the OHBA Land Development Committee, is the president of the Niagara Home Builders’ Association.

The OHBA also presented its awards of distinction. For the second year in a row, Tridel earned the title of 2017 Ontario Home Builder of the Year. The firm was said to demonstrate "excellence not only in building design and customer service, but also in their commitment to innovative, sustainable building."

The OHBA recognized Eurodale Developments as the 2017 Ontario Renovator of the Year. The Toronto-based company was cited for demonstrating effective sales and marketing programs beyond advertising. For six consecutive years Eurodale has participated in BILD’s Race for Humanity.

Other 2017 Prestige Award winners included Doug Tarry Homes for HOPE, St. Thomas, low-rise project of the year; Spallacci Homes for 101 Locke, Hamilton, high- or mid-rise of the year; and Losani Homes for Central Park, Hamilton, the people’s choice award.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like