Skip to Content
View site list


Pre-Bid Projects

Pre-Bid Projects

Click here to see Canada’s most comprehensive listing of projects in conceptual and planning stages


eCompliance to honour individuals for safety efforts

Angela Gismondi
eCompliance to honour individuals for safety efforts

Three individual safety leaders will be recognized for contributing to safe workplaces at an upcoming safety conference.

The awards will be presented at eCompliance’s NXT 2018: The Future of EHS, which will take place Sept. 27 and 28 in Scottsdale Ariz. The EHS awards include the David Ellis Award, the Change Agent Award and the Safety Nerd Award.

“What’s a little bit different about what we’re doing compared to other awards that you see out there is that we’re actually giving out awards to an individual. We’re awarding a person not necessarily a company,” explained Josh LeBrun, president and COO of eCompliance, a safety software company.

“We want to recognize those safety professionals in the community that are really doing something that is different, leading the charge and leading their peers on improving safety in the workplace.”

The conference focuses on preparing for safety in the future.

“We’re trying to demonstrate how safety leaders should be thinking about their role for the next five, 10, 20 years, not necessarily just the next thing that they have to do tomorrow,” said LeBrun.

“We’re really highlighting and showcasing how technology is changing the landscape for safety leaders. We’re also highlighting how the role of the safety professional is going to change itself and really what the future of safety is going to look like.”

Director and vice-president level safety professionals from various industries across Canada and the United States are expected to attend the conference. The construction, energy, utility and forestry industries are expected to be represented.

Award recipients are nominated by their peers and chosen by a panel from hundreds of applicants.

“As part of that nomination process we ask them a number of questions, for example, for the Change Agent Award, related to how they’ve created a change in the organization, how people have bought into that change and how they’ve been able to create success in safety across the company but particularly related to change management,” explained LeBrun.

“For the David Ellis Award, the questions were primarily related to participation, not just how they’ve improved safety in their company but how have they actually created participation amongst the front lines. With the Safety Nerd Award, it’s primarily focused on safety leaders that have been able to capture and use data to help them make decisions.”

eCompliance partnered with MySafeWork to present the David Ellis Award to recognize the work the Ellis family has done to promote safety. The company was founded by Rob Ellis after he lost his son David in a workplace incident.

“We want to make sure that David’s legacy lives on and the things that are important to Rob and the family and the preaching they do around safety, ensuring that employees participate in the safety process but also that they are standing up to unsafe work,” said LeBrun.

“We wanted to recognize a person in the safety community that really demonstrates that in spades, somebody that really demonstrates a continuous commitment to increasing workforce participation.”

The Change Agent Award is presented by DuPont Sustainable Solutions in partnership with eCompliance. It is given to somebody who has successfully implemented a company-wide safety change.

“Over the last eight years in the business, we have realized that one of the most challenging aspects of creating safe outcomes is change management because most companies do not do change management very well,” noted LeBrun.

“We wanted to present an award to an individual in our community that has done an incredible job of getting the buy-in amongst their staff, amongst their executives, everyone in the organization and be able to create that change within their company to improve safety.”

The Safety Nerd Award is presented by eCompliance.

“We’re recognizing somebody in the community that is using technology and analytics to help drive decision-making around safety,” said LeBrun.

“The community that we are a part of is a bunch of safety nerds and we want to recognize that one person in that community that we really believe is leading the charge on using analytics to help them make decisions and help them drive change across the organization.”


eCompliance awards short list

TORONTO — eCompliance recently released the short list for the EHS awards which will be presented at the NXT 2018 conference in Scottsdale, Ariz. Sept. 27.

David Ellis Award — Roy Burch, Guelph Hydro; Steve Chaplin, EllisDon; Jennifer Allison, Ferrero

Change Agent Award — David Fogarty, Ritchie Bros; Alexander Chalmers, Rutherford Contracting; Matt Johnson, Reynolds Polymer Technology

Safety Nerd Award — Jorge Vazquez, MAREK; Matthew Roe, Texas Tech University; Dean Dell’Elce, Pomerleau

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like