Skip to Content
View site list


Pre-Bid Projects

Pre-Bid Projects

Click here to see Canada’s most comprehensive listing of projects in conceptual and planning stages


Richard McKeagan Scholarship Series provides $30,000 for students

DCN-JOC News Services
Richard McKeagan Scholarship Series provides $30,000 for students

OTTAWA — The Mechanical Contractors Association of Canada (MCAC) recently announced the winners of the Richard McKeagan Scholarship Series with 2022 marking the highest amount of financial assistance provided since the inception of the awards.

Close to $30,000 was awarded to students across Canada. It is named in honour of past-CEO Richard McKeagan and is supported by MCAC associate members and MCA partners from across Canada who provide the funding for the program and the various scholarships offered, indicates a release.

The scholarship series has awarded more than $100,000 to post-secondary students since its inception in 2006. 

In addition to students in the mechanical field of study, scholarships were also offered in several new categories including sustainable development, women in the mechanical field and Indigenous students. 

Scholarships were available through partners including Bradford White Canada, EquipCo Ltd., Federated Insurance, Masco/Delta, MCA Hamilton-Niagara, Mitsubishi Electric Heating & Cooling, OS&B, Palser Enterprises, Reliance Worldwide, ServcoCanada, Taco Comfort Solutions, Uponor, Watts Water Technologies, the Women in Mechanical Construction Initiative, and the broader associate membership of MCAC, which funds a single MCAC Associate Member Scholarship.

The following students received scholarship funding:

  • Bradford White Canada: Luca DeChellis
  • EquipCo Ltd.: Emma Powell          
  • Federated Insurance:Kyle Desrochers
  • Masco/Delta: Tatiana Howard
  • MCAC associate members: Arleen Kehler
  • MCA Hamilton/Niagara: Emma Powell
  • Mitsubishi Electric Heating & Cooling: Mina Ariana
  • OS&B: Jill Stagg, Kyron Evans 
  • Palser Enterprises: Cory Mueller 
  • Reliance Worldwide Canada (RWC):Emma Powell
  • ServcoCanada: Arleen Kehler
  • Taco Comfort Solutions: Tasneem Kham,Marco Meli
  • Uponor: Mina Ariana, Tang Gilbert, Tatiana Howard, Meghan McLaughlin, Emma Powell
  • Watts Water Technologies:Brooke Carbino       
  • Women in mechanical construction: Arleen Kehler

“As a national association for the mechanical contracting industry in Canada, the Richard McKeagan Scholarship Series represents an extremely important initiative for our sector and our members,” said Derek Ermen, president and chair of the MCAC, in a statement. “Supporting the future leaders in our industry is paramount, particularly as we grapple with retirements and skilled worker shortages across the country. This year’s financial assistance total is our largest to date, and it showcases the industry’s ongoing commitment to the next generation.” 

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like