Skip to Content
View site list




Click here for free access to Canadian public sector construction bids & RFPs

Province announces changes to Ontario Energy Board governance structure

Province announces changes to Ontario Energy Board governance structure

TORONTO — The Ontario government is modernizing the Ontario Energy Board (OEB) by recommending the appointment of a new leadership team which includes Susanna Zagar as the OEB’s new CEO and Lynne Anderson as the OEB’s new chief commissioner.

The new structure would come into effect this fall upon proclamation of the amendments under Schedule 2 of the Fixing the Hydro Mess Act, 2019.

Zagar spent 10 years as the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board’s chief strategy, analytics and people officer. She has also held executive-level roles at the Ontario Ministry of Infrastructure and the Ontario Ministry of Labour. If her appointment as CEO is approved, Zagar would provide leadership over the OEB’s operations and policy work.

Anderson has extensive experience at the OEB, most recently as a full-time board member and she also served as the vice-president of applications for almost seven years. She previously served as Hydro Ottawa’s chief regulatory affairs and government relations officer. If her appointment as chief commissioner is approved, she will be responsible for the OEB’s adjudicative function and will establish panels of commissioners to preside over rate, facility, utility consolidation and other applications and enforcement matters, indicates a July 15 government release.

The government also intends to make the following initial appointments to the OEB under the new governance structure:

  • John Knubley (board of directors) – Current president of InnovAction Advisory Services Inc. and a former deputy minister of innovation, science and economic development Canada.
  • Gerald Moncrief (board of directors) – Previous owner and president/vice-president of Moncrief Construction Limited.
  • Glenn O’Farrell (board of directors) – Currently the CEO at the Ombudservice for Life & Health Insurance. Previously, he served as CEO at Groupe Media TFO, Canadian Association of Broadcasters and Global Television Network Québec.
  • Marie Oswald (board of directors) – Previously served as director and chair of the board at Oakville Enterprises Corporation and Oakville Hydro Electricity Distribution Inc., following a career in legal and compliance leadership in the financial services industry.
  • Allison Duff (commissioner) – A former OEB member with previous experience as a business consultant.

The government has also reappointed a number of current OEB members who will become commissioners once the new governance structure comes into effect, adds the release.

“I look forward to working together with these experienced leaders as we renew and modernize the OEB,” said Greg Rickford, minister of energy, northern development and mines, in a statement. “Strong leadership will help the OEB better serve individuals and families, allow the provincial regulator to operate more effectively and efficiently, and help ensure that Ontario’s energy system remains sustainable and reliable, as was envisioned in the OEB Review Panel.”

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like