Skip to Content
View site list


Associations, Projects

2018 AIBC award winners in the spotlight

JOC News Service
2018 AIBC award winners in the spotlight
Photo courtesy of Michael Elkan - The Crosstown Elementary School in Vancouver won an Architectural Institute of British Columbia (AIBC) Special Jury award for “overcoming substantive obstacles to create profound social-environmental impact.” The building, designed by Francl Architecture Inc., is a response to a shift in education delivery in the city by fitting a non-traditional building inside an urban location.

VANCOUVER – British Columbia’s best built forms are having their moment in the sun.

The Architectural Institute of British Columbia (AIBC) recently announced the winners of its 2018 Architectural Awards, with 13 awards presented in five categories.

The Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia Award in Architecture — Medal category went to the UBC Aquatic Centre project, with design by MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd. and Acton Ostry Architects Inc.

Two other projects also received the award; the Okada Marshall House by D’Arcy Jones Architecture Inc., a wood structure in Sooke, B.C., and the Columbia Valley Centre by Shape Architecture Inc. in a joint venture with Hindle Architecture. The centre is a multi-use facility in Invermere, B.C. which features a community hall and village library.

Three projects also won the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia Award in Architecture — Merit, including the Langara College Science and Technology Building in Vancouver, designed by Proscenium Architecture in association with Teeple Architects Inc.

The University of British Columbia Campus Energy Centre, designed by DIALOG BC Architecture Engineering Interior Design Planning Inc. also picked up a Merit award. The centre is a state-of-the-art boiler that supplies the energy needs of the campus.

The South Surrey Operations Centre, designed by Carscadden Stokes McDonald Architects Inc., also won a Merit award. The municipal building is intended to “nest” city operations into the surrounding neighbourhood.

The AIBC Emerging Firm award went to Leckie Studio Architecture + Design Inc., a Vancouver-based interdisciplinary design studio, and an Innovation award went to the Sechelt Water Resource Centre by WMW Public: Architecture + Communication Inc. The transparent building features mechanical and biological systems to clean wastewater that can be viewed by the public.

WMW also won an Innovation award for the UBC Quantum Matter Institute, a portal to the University of British Columbia’s Applied Science Precinct, which is a new formal entrance for the Advanced Materials and Process Engineering Laboratory.

Brock Commons Tallwood House designed by Acton Ostry Architects Inc. is currently the tallest wood hybrid structure in the world and it also collected an Innovation award.

The winners of the AIBC Special Jury award included the Swallowfield Barn in Langley, B.C., designed by Asher DeGroot Architect Inc. (now called MOTIV Architects Inc.), which was noted for its community engagement, and the Dock Building by Michael Green Architecture, located on Jericho Beach in Vancouver, won for exceptional design clarity.

The Crosstown Elementary School in Vancouver also won a Special Jury award for Francl Architecture Inc., for “for overcoming substantive obstacles to create profound social-environmental impact,” states an AIBC release.

The awards received 59 submissions and the jury was chaired by Matthew Emerson, the associate vice-president at HDR|CEI Architecture Associates Inc., Heba Maleki from Patkau Architects Inc., Diarmuid Nash, a partner at Moriyama & Teshima Architects, and Homa Rameshg, the owner of Rameshg Architect.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like