Skip to Content
View site list


Pre-Bid Projects

Pre-Bid Projects

Click here to see Canada’s most comprehensive listing of projects in conceptual and planning stages


CaGBC announces 2019 award winners

JOC News Service
CaGBC announces 2019 award winners
CAGBC - SAIT architectural technologies professor Cheryl Fryers (left) was the winner of the CaGBC Inspired Educator award at the Canada Green Building Council’s Building Lasting Change conference held in Vancouver. The award was presented by Robert Campanelli of GWL Architecture (right).

VANCOUVER – The Canada Green Building Council (CaGBC) announced the winners of the 2019 Leadership and Green Building Excellence Awards at the recent Building Lasting Change conference in Vancouver.

The awards focus on people and projects who “demonstrate outstanding industry leadership and who have made significant contributions to the CaGBC’s mission and goals in advancing green building in Canada,” a release stated, with recognition in both Leadership and Excellence categories.

“Every year we are recognizing those individuals that are making a difference and affecting/leading change in Canada’s green building industry. This year’s award winners are indicative of the passion, commitment and innovation that drives our industry to keeping moving forward in delivering change on the ground. This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Daniel Pearl, embodies those traits. Both as a practicing architect and an educator, he has influenced sustainable design and delivered ground breaking projects for decades,” CaGBC president Thomas Mueller said.

The Lifetime Acheivement award went to Daniel Pearl, the co-founder of L’OEUF (l’Office de l’Éclectisme Urbain et Fonctionnel), who is described in the releasee as “Montreal’s number one eco-architect.” Pearl focuses on urban housing, residential and commercial renovation, and sustainable architecture. 

Southern Alberta Institute of Technology professor of architectural technologies professor Cheryl Fryers won the Inspired Educator award for her 15 years of teaching sustainability and regenerative design, including the design of a master’s theses that explored gamification to adopt sustainable behaviours.

Public Services and Procurement Canada won the Government Leadership award, with its role as the first federal department to complete a National Carbon Neutral Plan and policy adjustments that impacted the government of Canada’s property portfolio.

Natalie Irwin, the director of stakeholder engagement for Efficiency Canada, was the winner of the Volunteer Leadership – Chapter award. Irwin was involved in Green Jobs 101 in Halifax, N.S., a series of networking events for recent graduates.

The Ed Lim Technical Leadership award went to Provencher Roy Architectes architect and sustainability specialist Guillaume Martel, who has worked with the CaGBC as a member and current chair of the Material and Resources Technical Advisory Group, represented the organization at G7 summits and sits on the LEED Canada steering committee.

Lisa Westerhoff of Integral Group won the Green Building Champion award for her work on the BC Energy Step Code, the Better Buildings BC incentive program, the CaGBC Zero Carbon Building standard, and the Toronto Zero Emissions Building Plan.

The Green Building Pioneer award went to Pageau Morel et associes inc.’s Roland Charneux for his work over the past 40 years advocating for green buildings and investing in education. Stantec buildings performance engineer Afaf Azzouz won the Emerging Green Leader award for her work on carbon neutral studies for commercial buildings, the Zero Carbon Building Standard certification, and work on the University of British Columbia’s wood-based Brock Commons residential tower.

Fourth-year University of Manitoba student Bianca Dahlman won the Students Leading Sustainability: Andy Kesteloo Memorial Project Award for design work on the Weave Cultural Centre, a multi-purpose space for the Anishanaabe community of Shoal Lake 40 that acts as both a cultural hub and green building structure.

The winner of the CAGBC Green Building Product of the Year award was SoyaOil Coatings Canada Ltd., a renewable architectural coatings technology. The Tenant Improvement award winner was Winnipeg-based Prairie Architects Inc. for their office space move into a heritage warehouse centred around green design. The Parkdale Landing Affordable Housing Retrofit in Hamilton, Ont. won the Inspiring Home award for efficiently renovating dilapidated buildings at less than a five per cent cost increase over a code building.

The Zero Carbon award went to Ecole Cure-Paquin, the first grade-school in Canada to receive Zero Carbon Building Design certification. The award singled out the school’s high-performance energy and water systems along with materials re-use and life cycle management.

The New Construction award was given to ThreeC Plus, Western University’s Engineering building, a 9.400 square meter multi-use project on the university’s main campus in London, Ont. The building is the first development in the City of London to target LEED Platinum certification. The Green Building Excellence – Existing Building winner was 4711 Yonge Street by Marisa Construction Ltd. And Menkes Property Management Services Ltd. which improved its ENERGY STAR score, reduced water use, and has achieved LEED Silver, Fitwell, Wiredscore and BOMA BEST Platinum.

CAGBC – L’OEUF co-founder Daniel Pearl (left) was the winner of the CaGBC Lifetime Acheivement award, presented by CaGBC president and CEO Thomas Mueller (right) at the Building Lasting Change conference in Vancouver.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like