Skip to Content
View site list




Complete coverage of the pandemic's impact on construction

Calgary calls for submissions to 2019 Mayor’s Urban Design Awards

JOC News Service
Calgary calls for submissions to 2019 Mayor’s Urban Design Awards

CALGARY – The city of Calgary is looking for submissions for the 2019 Mayor’s Urban Design Awards (MUDA) which celebrates architecture, public space and landscape design in the city.

The biennial awards recognize Calgary’s artists, architects, urban designers and landscape architects in the categories of conceptual of theoretical urban design projects, urban design plans, urban architecture, civic design projects and urban fragments.

Further categories include a community initiatives award, the Mawson Urban Design award, city edge development, ‘Great City, Great Design’, green city, housing innovation and student projects.

A People’s Choice category has also been announced with details to come in fall 2019.

“Great design is integral to building a great city. Nurturing a vibrant design culture by recognizing the people behind the creation of our buildings and spaces is central to this,” City of Calgary chief urban designer David Down said.

“The importance of well-designed space cannot be overstated. Great design can make people feel welcome, improve safety and accessibility, and create the beautiful, memorable places that bring vitality and value to a city,” Downs said.  

Eighty-nine submissions were received in 2017 and winners included the Fourth Street Underpass Enhancement by the marc boutin architectural collaborative inc., East Village Junction owned by Calgary Municipal Land Corporation and designed by Nyhoff Architecture and the New Central Library, designed by Snøhetta & DIALOG Design.

Submission forms and a full list of categories are available at and submissions are open until Sept. 9, 2019. The awards will be held Oct. 24 at Calgary’s central public library.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like