Skip to Content
View site list




Complete coverage of the pandemic's impact on construction
Others, Projects

Architects invited to take part in Governor General’s Medals in Architecture competition

DCN News Services
Architects invited to take part in Governor General’s Medals in Architecture competition

OTTAWA—The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the Canada Council for the Arts are calling for submissions for the 2020 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture.

The 12 medals, which are awarded every two years, recognize and celebrate outstanding design in recently completed built projects — big or small — by Canadian architects, indicates a release, adding the medals are among the country’s most prestigious and coveted architectural awards.

The jury will assess the architectural and artistic merit of the design of the projects and consider factors such as conceptual clarity; innovation and uniqueness; compatibility with the site; sustainable design; and detailing.

Recipients will have the opportunity to celebrate achievement with their team and clients, reach new markets, attract new business and talent and gain exposure across Canada and internationally, adds the release.

The call for submissions is open to all architects or team of architects who were the lead design architects. They must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada, and licensed or registered with a Canadian provincial or territorial jurisdiction.

The RAIC, along with the RAIC College of Fellows, organizes and administers the competition. The Canada Council for the Arts selects and administers the peer assessment committee.

The 2020 jury members include Alison Brooks, principal and creative director, Alison Brooks Architects, London, UK; Johanna Hurme, FRAIC, architect and co-founder, 5468796 Architecture, Winnipeg; Renee Mailhot, MIRAC, architect and co-founder, La SHED architecture, Montreal; David Theodore, MRAIC, Canada research chair in architecture, health, and computation at the Peter Guo-hua Fu School of Architecture, McGill University, Montreal; and Isay Weinfeld, head architect, Isay Weinfeld Arquitetura, Sao Paulo, Brazil.

The deadline for submissions is Dec. 6, 2019 at 12 a.m. EST. The RAIC has a new online submission platform to make it easier for applicants. Eligible projects are those that were built in and outside of Canada and completed between January 1, 2012, and September 1, 2019.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like