Skip to Content
View site list


Pre-Bid Projects

Pre-Bid Projects

Click here to see Canada’s most comprehensive listing of projects in conceptual and planning stages

Projects, Resource

Mine rescue finalists will compete for provincial title

Mine rescue finalists will compete for provincial title
WORKPLACE SAFETY NORTH — The results of the 2024 Ontario Mine Rescue District competitions were released recently. Finalists across Ontario will compete for provincial title in June. Ontario Mine Rescue is part of Workplace Safety North.

SUDBURY, ONT. — Eight teams of mine rescue volunteers from across Ontario won the official Ontario Mine Rescue Competitions and winners will now proceed to the provincial level where they vie for the coveted gold hardhats.

The contest took place May 8 to 10. The Ontario Mine Rescue Provincial Championship will take place June 4 to 7 at Fort Williams Gardens in Thunder Bay, where only one team will win.

Mine rescue teams put their first aid knowledge to the test by retrieving a casualty from a confined space and treating a diabetic casualty with low sugars, states a release. Teams were then encouraged to use a state-of-the-art foam generator to eliminate a simulated fire.

The winners of each district are:

  • Algoma District: Alamos Island Gold Mine – Captain Kaiden Harrietha, Dominic Jean, Evan Barley, Jacob Paskus, Vice Captain Jessy DeChamplain, Daniel Webb, Briefing Office Joel Labbe, Ben Eppert. The winning technician was Kyle Ouellette, Alamos Island Gold.
  • Sudbury District: Vale West Mine – Captain Chris Charbonneau, Roch Berthiaume, Shawn Barrette, Madison Tracey, vice-captain Dustin McKinnon, Patricia Gagne, BO Lorne Beleskey, Brian Reeves. The winning technician is Nick Fram, Vale West Mine.
  • Onaping District: Glencore SINO Fraser and Nickel Rim South Mines – Captain Julien Lalande, Aaron Boutet, Neil Poulin, Alyssa Spry, vice-captain Jesse Legault, Shawn O’Brien, BO Bleir Millions. Winning technician was Dan Rioux, Glencore.
  • Thunder Bay District: Impala Lac Des Isles Mine – Captain Dillon Bradley, Kyle Barbeau, Christopher Strom, Connor O’Limb, vice-captain Devin Jackson, Christopher Forsyth, BO Manuel Manero. The winning technician was Monika Jorgensen, Impala Lac Des Isles Mine.
  • Red Lake District: Evolution Mining Red Lake Operations – Captain Scott McKean, Tyler Lorenzini, Geoff Taylor, Jeff Merkel, vice-captain David Zapora, Carl Grondin, BO Rob Nylund. The winning technician was Gabriel Roy, Newmont Musselwhite.
  • Timmins District: Lakeshore Gold West Bell Creek Mines – Captain Adam Weagle, Shane Sullivan, Brandon Duhan, Andrew MacIvor, vice-captain Natalie Lafontaine, Serge Roy, BO Tyler Williams. The winning technician was Mike Bennett, Glencore Kidd Operations.
  • Kirkland Lake District: Agnico Eagle Macassa Mine – Captain Nicholas Perrier, Jackson Lafrance, Jean-Francois Racine, Denis Dion, vice-captain Hubert Gour, Carlie Dewar, BO April Belecque, Colin Price. Winning technician was Garry Bennett, Alamos Gold.
  • Southern District: CGC Hagersville Mine – Captain Joshua Stringer, Scott Walton, Charles Heaslip, Ashlee Reitsma, vice-captain Steve Wilkieson, Allen Barber, BO Paul Hunt. The winning technician was Matt Peebles, CGC Hagersville.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like