Skip to Content
View site list



VRCA celebrates 28th annual Awards of Excellence

JOC News Service
VRCA celebrates 28th annual Awards of Excellence

The Vancouver Regional Construction Association (VRCA) celebrated on October 5th at the 28th annual Awards of Excellence, held at the Vancouver Convention Centre.

There were more than 150 entrants and 45 projects representing approximately $1.3 billion in construction value. 23 awards were presented, including 14 Gold awards, seven Outstanding Achievement awards a Judge’s award and a Heritage award.

"Through these awards we shine a light on the dedication and professionalism that our members bring to their projects – the complex, state-of-the-art infrastructure that we citizens use every day," says Fiona Famulak, President of the VRCA.

Bird Construction took the General Contractor – over $45 million award for their work on the University of British Columbia’s Student Union Building. In the General Contractor’s $15 to $45 million category, Graham Construction and Engineering won for their renovations to Vancouver’s Main St. Skytrain station, and the General Contractor – up to $15 million winner was PCL Constructors Westcoast for work on the YVR Expedited Transfer Facility – Package 2 (ETF2) project.

Division 15 Mechanical Ltd won not only the Mechanical Contractor over $8 million award for their work on the UBC DES Phase 6-9 and UBC DES Phase 6&7 ETS, but also garnered recognition as Member of the Year. Other mechanical contractor winners were PML Professional Mechanical Ltd in the up to $3 million category for their contribution to the View residential complex and Trotter & Morton Building Technologies Inc. for their contributions to the UBC District Energy Centre.

The Chairman’s Trade award (up to $1 million) went to Seagate Consulting Ltd for work on the Grandview Heights Aquatic Centre. Western Archrib also won a Manufacturers and Suppliers award for their work on the centre.

The President’s Trade award ($1 to $3 million) was given to Pocklington Building Systems Ltd. for work on the Audain Art Museum. That project also garnered Alpine West Systems Electrical an award in the Electrical Contractor – Up to $2 million category. The other Electrical Contractor award winners were Houle Electric in the $2 to $8 million category for the Northern Rockies Regional Recreation Centre and Western Pacific Enterprises GP in the over $8 million category for work on the Evergreen Rapid Transit project.

The Founder’s Trade award ($3 to $8 million) went to Southwest Contracting Ltd. for the Vancouver House Buildings 1 & 2 Phase 1 project, and the Director’s Trade award (over $8 million) was given to Gallagher Bros. Contractors Ltd. for their contribution to the A-B Connector at Vancouver International Airport.

The winner of the Judges award was Britco LP for their work on the Bella Bella Housing Project, and the Heritage award went to Vintage Woodworks. Inc for the MNP Tower project.

The Innovation and Productivity award went to Houle Electric for their Connected Snow Removal Camera, and the firm also won a safety award for their superior safety record as a trade contractor in the 200,000 or more personhours category.

Ronan Deane from Graham Construction and Engineering LP won an Education Leadership award, and Elizabeth Rowe from Canadian Turner Construction Company, Ltd. won the Outstanding Woman in Construction award. The U40 Excellence in Construction award went to Amit Patel from Canadian Turner Construction Company Ltd.

The Construction Workplace Health and Safety Innovation award went to the Gisborne Group for their glove and eyewear matrices, and they also won a safety award in recognition of a superior safety record in the trade contractor 100,000 to 1999,999 personhours category.

McLeod Masonry International Corp won for a zero frequency injury ae in the trade contractor 10 to 49,000 personhours category, and Status Electrical won for zero frequency injury rates in the Trade Contractor 200,000 or more personhours category, as did Western Pacific Enterprises GP. In the General Contractor zero frequency injury rate category, the winners were Graham Construction and Engineering LP (50,000 to 99,999 personhours), Scott Construction Group (100,000 to 199,999 personhours) and Omicron Canada Inc. (200,000 or more personhours).

"While these awards celebrate the achievements of the construction industry’s finest companies, they also provide insight into where the industry as a whole is heading," said Tony Everett, chair of the Awards of Excellence judging panel. "This year, our judging panel noted a number of key trends amongst the winners that include the use of wood, the number of live sites, and the emergence of high-efficiency heating and cooling systems from overseas."

Keep checking the Journal of Commerce for a video with highlights of the winners and the awards gala.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like