Skip to Content

View site list



Vancouver firm earns RAIC Emerging Architectural Practice Award

DCN News Service
Vancouver firm earns RAIC Emerging Architectural Practice Award

OTTAWA — A nine-person Vancouver firm known for thoughtful modern design in both renovations and new buildings has been named the recipient of the 2017 Emerging Architectural Practice Award given by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC).

D’Arcy Jones Architecture (DJA) was founded in 2005 by D’Arcy Jones. A graduate of the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg and Dalhousie University in Halifax, Jones previously worked on his own from 2000 to 2005. Largely residential, the firm’s projects include housing, commercial spaces, art galleries, renovations and interiors.

"The body of work is consistently outstanding and innovative," said the six-member selection jury. "The skillful integration of interior and exterior spaces is particularly well executed, resulting in an architecture that is poetic."

The Emerging Architectural Practice Award recognizes the principals of an emerging architectural practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture, noted the RAIC announcement issued March 7. The award recognizes the quality of built work, service to clients, innovations in practice and public recognition.

"The work demonstrates a thorough understanding of construction," said the jury. "The projects are carefully and intensely detailed. They show thoughtful attention to creating spatial variety."

The award will be presented at the RAIC/OAA (Ontario Association of Architects) Festival of Architecture, which takes place in Ottawa May 24 to 27.

"This national award from the RAIC is a big honour, and our studio is pleased to be recognized by our peers," said Jones. "We are thankful for our clients who support and encourage us to make artful buildings."

DJA has current and completed projects throughout British Columbia as well as in Ontario, Switzerland, California and Washington.

The firm has won numerous awards, including a 2016 Vancouver Urban Design Award, two Canadian Architect Awards of Merit and the inaugural Arthur Erickson Memorial Award.

In 2014, Jones won the Ronald J. Thom Award for Early Design Achievement from the Canada Council for the Arts, which recognizes outstanding creative talent and potential in architectural design early in a career.

Recent Comments

comments for this post are closed

You might also like